A Mantra for Depression

This is for anyone sick of feeling sadness nip at their heels like a sick, pathetic dog…

I have decided to fight depression's pull.

Every time I feel my mind dip towards darkness, every time I'm tempted to let someone else's reactions flood my headspace, I will NOT lay down and let sadness cloud my mind.

No. Not anymore.

I will fight like hell. I will kick and flail. I will fight off depression like I'm fighting an assailant.

I have worked too hard and fought too long to be knocked down so close to the finish line.

I will bottle my victories like ammonia when I get woozy with forgetfulness.

I will choose to care less and love more.

I've worked and waited to be here.

I cannot, and I will not, be deterred.

Leave a Reply

