Oh blog, how I’ve neglected you…

I guess you could classify “starting college” as a legitimate reason to stop blogging for a bit. In the past week, I’ve been pushed headfirst into a world that confuses, amazes, intrigues, and excites me all in one. I’ve moved into a dorm, the first place I’ve ever lived apart from my family in my entire life, met some of the coolest, most kind, God-fearing people I’ve ever known, and taken some of my first college classes ever.

I don’t know how I’m alive right now.

I guess when you think of college you think of crazy parties and all the time fun first, and then you think, almost as an afterthought, “Oh, yeah. You do some studying there, and uh…get a degree, right?”. I guess I always thought like that even though I wanted to be realistic. College is hard! Already in my first day of classes I’ve been confronted with a work load that is so foreign to my experience part of me wants to run away and the other part of me wants to kill myself in the pursuit of my dream! I love the work but I hate the work!

This week we had Fall Bible Conference at Cedarville. We have chapels at 10am and 7pm everyday, and our keynote speaker this year was a man named Rob Turner, the pastor of Apex Community Church. My parents go to Apex, I still attend my church of 12 years, Southbrook Christian Church. I have absolutely LOVED Rob’s teachings this past week. He is a man of God – everything he says is God-breathed! He speaks the Gospel plainly and without adulturation – he construes the Word of God in a right and just way, he is honest and righteous, but not self-righteous, he is accountable, real, authentic, and earnest. He earnestly desires people to know the Savior who saved him. I can’t stop speaking well of Rob because in listening to him speak I felt like I was in the presence of a modern-day Paul. His passion was enflamed by the truth of salvation through Christ. Rob yelled out of passion and conviction the truths of God’s Word. Did the volume of his voice bother me? NO. It convicted me.

In the four days I’ve heard Rob speak, I feel like I have drawn immeasurably nearer to the heart of God. I praise God for Rob Turner.

When it comes to classes, I have a few.

So on Tuesdays and Thursdays I have my major-specific classes. Namely, Intro to Electronic Media and Audio Production. On Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, I have my gen-eds, namely, Composition, US History 1, Foundations (a class that teaches helpful skills for college learning) and Christian Life and Thought.

It’s strange to me, and my roommate Casey agrees, to not have classes everyday. It’s a welcome change.

Just today I did an hour and a half of reading. And only finished one chapter. Of three. I took 6 pages of notes.

Welcome to college!

These are going to be the best four years of my life. Literally.

No sarcasm.

Leave a Reply

