BATMAN. That is all.

***I’m NOT going to spoil The Dark Knight Rises for any of you who may not have seen it! I’m just going to talk about what Batman means to me.

I had a really nice yesterday.

If you know me pretty well, you’ll know my favorite movie of all time is The Dark Knight. When I first saw it, I was 14. I remember being really scared. Every time Heath Ledger said something, I would get chills. I was convinced The Dark Knight was the scariest movie of all time after watching the scene where the Joker kills a man by slamming his face into an erect pencil. (Of course, I hadn’t seen any scary movies before). Although I was scared out of my mind through the entire film, I was also completely captivated. There was something about the utter darkness of the film – the horror of the Joker’s terrible, deadly schemes, the feeling of Gotham crumbling to pieces around Batman despite his attempts to save it, and the hopelessness of Rachel’s death and Harvey’s transformation, that allowed the beauty of light – of truth, of goodness, of bravery, of love, to shine through in a way that was so poignant and moving I knew I’d encountered my favorite movie in existence. Something about The Dark Knight really moves me. It reminds me a lot of Jesus – we are His Gotham. Despite the fact that we are completely evil and depraved he still is willing to lay his life down to restore us to our former state of beauty.

I love the last line of The Dark Knight – Commissioner Gordon is talking to his son, and his son asks, “Why is [Batman] running, Dad?”. Gordon says, “Because we have to chase him.”. The son says, “But he didn’t do anything wrong.” Then, Gordon says the line that never fails to give me goosebumps. Every. Single. Time.

“Because he’s the hero Gotham deserves, but not the one it needs right now. So we’ll hunt him because he can take it. Because he’s not our hero. He’s a silent guardian, a watchful protector. A dark knight.”

I love this image of Batman. He is mystery. He is bravery – a complete patriot for his town of Gotham. He dwells in the night, but only to redeem it. Only to bring light into the darkness.

Joesph Gordon-Levitt. Feast your eyes.

Carrying on – sorry for my long-winded ramble about how much Batman means to me. Yesterday I saw The Dark Knight Rises – a movie I’ve been waiting a while for – checking IMDB.com every so often for updates about. I’m not going to spoil the movie for anyone who may not have yet seen it – but let me say, it is excellent. Well done, Christopher Nolan. Well done, cast and crew. I was utterly blown away by the excellence I saw in every faucet of this film. It transported me. I was immersed in the action, in the lives of the characters, in the story of Batman. Joesph Gordon-Levitt, you are probably the only “celebrity” (he apperently hates being referred to as such, but at this point, it’s accurate) I will ever/have ever crush(ed) on. Unless you count my three-year long crush on Brandon Heath…

The Dark Knight Rises explores the same themes as The Dark Knight, but is somehow perfectly blended with themes from Batman Begins. You have the elements of strength and training, of darkness and total conquest by evil, but then the antitheses of these in the amount of sheer goodness that exists in the character of Batman.

This just makes me really happy.

Ultimately, Batman teaches us that anyone can be a hero – anyone could wear that mask, (Batman has no superpowers), that a desire for good combined with a passion for justice creates a machine dedicated to a peaceful world, and that grace is always available even when it seems out of reach. Batman would die for Gotham, a city that hates him.

Jesus died for us, a people who crucified Him.

I love when art mirrors life.

Leave a Reply

