Today in the shell of a nut

Right now my eyes are barely open – I’m gazing wearily at my computer screen thinking, “I should blog right now”. So my tired body proceeds to process my mind’s ridiculous request.

I absolutely love Sundays.

I don’t know if you, dear reader, are anything like me, but Sundays are relaxation. Sundays are waking up early to go to church at 9:30. Sundays are spending time with people I love. Sundays are worship in community. Sundays are brand new Drop Dead Diva episodes.

This Sunday followed much of the same pattern – church at Southbrook was unique, however. I brought my newfound best friend Branden along for the ride and he got a good taste of what my church feels like. It’s a little less charismatic than he’s used to – he told me he usually has someone in service running laps around the chairs. I was quick to warn him that it’s impressive if someone raises their hands at Southbrook.

Speaking of worship! Today’s worship was fabulous…every bit as good as I anticipated.  Josh and Julie Moser were both on – they sounded so beautiful together it made my heart happy. Kristi was fiddling away on her violin, Lukey was freaking out as he played bass, and I was in the front row, worshipping happily as my ears melted upon hearing such melodious music. They sang “Go” (which, I contest, Josh sings better than Hillsong United – go on, beat me with a stick), “Your Love Never Fails” (my friend Zach called it “Taylor Swift meets Jesus Culture” – great way of describing it) and my favorite song OF ALL TIME, “Give Me Faith”, which Josh slayed and then added a huge cherry on top by singing the last, triumphant bridge with an incredible four part harmony.

I MAY BE WEAK

BUT YOUR SPIRIT’S STRONG IN ME

MY FLESH MAY FAIL

BUT MY GOD YOU NEVER WILL

I declared it. We declared it as a church. Hearts raised high in surrender.

Isn’t this true worship?

Leave a Reply

